Governor's Awards for Leadership

The Governor's Award for Leadership in Management is an annual award that recognizes managers in state government who demonstrate extraordinary leadership through performance results in the previous year.

In 2017, Governor Inslee recognized 21 exceptional managers who exemplify excellence in their performance and accomplishments. They demonstrate the values and behaviors that are integral to a performance-driven culture. A selection committee composed of agency directors selected the winners from a statewide group of 47 nominees. 

2017 award recipients

June 6, 2017 press release: Inslee honors 21 state government managers for outstanding performance

Group photo of award recipients
2017 award recipients with Governor Inslee and Trudi Inslee.


  • Melanie Anderson — Health Care Authority
  • Glenn Briskin — Washington State Patrol
  • Jeff Canaan — Department of Enterprise Services
  • Kim Eads — Department of Agriculture
  • Paula Ehlers — Department of Ecology
  • Dr. Romesh Gautom — Department of Health
  • Ryan Guppy — Department of Labor and Industries
  • Kathleen Harvey — Department of Social and Health Services
  • Alice Huber — Department of Social and Health Services
  • Jan Jutte — State Auditor’s Office
  • Cletus Nnanabu — Department of Labor and Industries
  • Justin Nordhorn — Liquor and Cannabis Board
  • David Puente — Department of Labor and Industries
  • Jennifer Richards — Department of Licensing
  • Michele Roberts — Department of Health
  • John Ryser — Department of Revenue
  • Philip Saunders — Department of Enterprise Services
  • Becky Smith — Liquor and Cannabis Board
  • Josh Sundt — Office of Administrative Hearings
  • Gary Urbas — Military Department
  • Mark Vasconi — Utilities and Transportation Commission



Leslie McGuire, State Human Resources Division
Office of Financial Management
(360) 407-4105