Auto Theft Prevention Authority

Reviews and makes recommendations to the Legislature and the Governor regarding moto vehicle theft crimes in Washington and establishes, maintains, and supports programs that are designed to prevent motor vehicle theft. It was created by the Elizabeth Nowak-Washington Auto Theft Prevention Act enacted during the 2007 Regular Legislative Session, signed into law by Governor Gregoire. The Authority consists of 10 Governor appointees serving staggered terms. Representatives of law enforcement, prosecution, the auto industry, the insurance industry, the Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs and the private sector are included as members of the Authority. It is funded through a percentage of the surcharge of traffic infractions.
Board Website
Policy AreaPublic Safety
Governor Appointments10
Total Board Positions10
Statutory AuthorityRCW 46.66.010
Public Disclosure Required?No
Senate Confirmation Required?No
CompensationPer diem and travel expenses
Term Length (years)4
Statutory Term Limits
Member Requirements: The executive director of the Washington association of Sheriffs and police chiefs, or the executive director's designee; The chief of the Washington state patrol, or the chief's designee; Two police chiefs; Two sheriffs; One prosecuting attorney; A representative from the insurance industry who is responsible for writing property and casualty liability insurance in the state of Washington; A representative from the automobile industry; and One member of the general public.