Inslee honors 20 state government managers for outstanding performance

Story Body

Olympia – Gov. Jay Inslee today honored 20 state agency managers who have demonstrated outstanding leadership. The 2014 Governor’s Award for Leadership in Management recipients were honored at an awards luncheon at the Executive Residence.

This year’s recipients were recognized for a wide range of accomplishments, including work to cut duplicative processes, respond to natural disasters and save taxpayer dollars.

“I’m consistently proud of the good work I see throughout our state agencies, and these managers are outstanding examples of how people are implementing Lean, cultivating a culture of professionalism and achieving great results,” Inslee said. “I appreciate all they do and thank them for serving the people and businesses of our state with such distinction.”

The Leadership in Management program was created in 1985 to recognize state government managers who demonstrate excellent performance. A selection committee composed of agency directors and executive staff chose the winners based on demonstrated performance.

This year’s recipients of the Governor’s Award for Leadership in Management are:

  • Cyndee Baugh, Department of Licensing
  • Jody Becker-Green, Department of Corrections
  • Capt. Jeff DeVere, Washington State Patrol
  • Lorena Eng, Department of Transportation
  • Judy Fitzgerald, Consolidated Technology Services
  • Joshua Johnston, Department of Licensing
  • Kathy Kinard, Department of Commerce
  • Donald Lachman, Department of Veterans Affairs
  • Jeff Landon, Department of Corrections
  • Nicole McIntosh, Department of Transportation
  • Bill Moss, Department of Social and Health Services
  • Chuck Pfeil, State Auditor’s Office
  • Babette Roberts, Department of Social and Health Services
  • Jeffrey Sass, Washington State Patrol
  • Janet Shimabukuro, Department of Revenue
  • Vann Smiley, Department of Social and Health Services
  • Elizabeth Smith, Department of Labor and Industries
  • Dawn Tatman, Department of Enterprise Services
  • Jennifer Tecca, Employment Security Department
  • Megan White, Department of Transportation

Media Contacts

Jaime Smith
Governor Inslee’s Communications Office