Inslee proclaims state of emergency for 20 counties fighting flooding

Story Body

OLYMPIA – Gov. Jay Inslee signed an emergency proclamation on Friday to free up state resources in the event of flooding or other weather-related damage in anticipation of extremely wet weather in Eastern Washington.

“The continual rain showers and early snow melt creates the potential for rising waters, destructive landslides and damage to our critical infrastructure, including our power grid and transportation system,” Inslee said. “This is a proactive move to ensure that state agencies are able to do everything reasonably possible to help communities recover quickly in the event major damage occurs.”

The proclamation covers 20 Eastern Washington counties, to include Adams, Asotin, Benton, Chelan, Columbia, Douglas, Ferry, Franklin, Garfield, Grant, Kittitas, Klickitat, Lincoln, Okanogan, Pend Oreille, Spokane, Stevens, Whitman, Walla Walla and Yakima Counties.

Flood warnings were issued in more than a dozen locations over the weekend. State emergency management officials have been responding to requests for assistance including dispatching Washington Conservation Corps crew members to the City of Sprague for help filling sandbags on Saturday and locating pumps to manage flood waters. 40 Washington National Guardsmen are scheduled to arrive today to assist with sand bagging efforts.

Media Contacts

Washington Military Department
Emergency Management Division