Inslee announces three appointments to state Art's Commission

Story Body

Gov. Jay Inslee appointed three commissioners to the Washington State Art's Commission. Dr. Kelvin Frank, Jasmine Mahmoud and Catherine Nueva España are the newest members of the Commission working to support the diverse and vibrant range of artists and communities throughout Washington.

Dr. Kelvin Frank has 25 years of experience working on community development and planning for Pacific Northwest Tribal Governments and resides in Moclips. Frank is a member of the Chippewa Cree Tribe in Montana and has dedicated the majority of his professional career to the preservation and celebration of Native American art and traditions. He has served as professor and researcher at Eastern Washington University.

Jasmine Mahmoud is currently an assistant professor in the Department of Performing Arts and Arts Leadership at Seattle University. In her career as a performance historian, Mahmoud focuses on the intersection of racial equity and cultural policy in the Pacific Northwest arts sector. Mahmoud is an active member of the Seattle arts community, working both as a TeenTix mentor and teaching artist as well as sitting on the boards of the Intiman Theatre and On the Boards.

Catherine Nueva España currently serves as executive director of Velocity Dance Center in Seattle. España serves as a grants’ panelist for ArtsWA and facilitator for the Seattle Office of Arts and Culture. She also serves on the board of Khambatta Dance Company and is a King Street Station Advisor. España has also worked with Seattle nonprofits through 501 Commons to ensure access to arts for all Seattle communities.

"These three Washingtonians have proven track records of dedication to preserving arts and culture in the state and nurturing diverse artistic voices, helping them to flourish," Inslee said. "I have no doubt their experiences will add tremendous value to the Commission, and I look forward to working with them to continue supporting Washington's artistic community."

“Jasmine, Catherine and Kelvin bring a wealth of experience and passion for the arts,” said Karen Hanan, executive director of the Commission. “Their expertise will add much to an already strong board as we work to nurture our state’s important creative economy.”

All three were appointed for terms ending in July 2023.

Media Contacts

Public and constituent inquiries | 360.902.4111
Press inquiries | 360.902.4136